Daily Archives: September 4, 2023

More Reading

I read a lot today. And I think that strange or weird feeling about the book When We Fell Apart is gone – I think. I think what that was about was that I was going to try and just read that book before I read any other physical book. But today I was reading LOTS OF BOOKS I have added several to my currently reading. I can’t help myself it feels unnatural to read just one book at a time. I am like a butterfly that needs to flit around from flower to flower. And then of course I have to update my Goodreads, and I have this habit of reading 20 pages of a physical book (or close to that) and 10% or close for Kindle books. I will wait to update till I have gone through 20 pages or 10%.

When We Fell Apart is good. I am looking forward to seeing where the book is going. I started In The Lives of Puppets for a book club I belong to and I wasn’t sure if it was going to be my kind of thing at all, but I have been pleasantly surprised, I really like this strange family with 3 robots and a human, and 2 of the robots are hilarious and charming. I remember I struggled a bit to get into The House in The Cerulean Sea, but with The Lives of Puppets I’m attached to the characters already – I’m 10% in.

I felt like I needed a faster paced book on my list and The Survivors was slow so I decided to try The Presence which is horror by John Saul. I’m liking it so far. It has archeological digs finding evil stuff – I think – I love that kind of stuff.

Discovered a new book series or trilogy on Google Play books, that starts with Strange Practice, about a woman doctor that has monsters for patients. It starts out with her treating a vampire. I liked the sample and bought it. I think I will continue reading it after I finish The Lives of Puppets. I still have this thing where I’m putting off reading a certain book until I finish a certain book. Like when I finish When We Fell Apart I want to read Happiness Falls – which I believe also has Korean characters.

I’m still reading some slow books – because I’m stubborn about not wanting to DNF unless it’s really bad. I get about halfway through the book and realize it’s not that great and I just want to finish it so I can write down that I read it.